Join the celebrations throughout the conference. For the ticketed events, you can sign up when you register for the conference, or add the event(s) later.


Michael L. Printz Program

Enjoy YALSA and Booklist's Michael L. Printz Program and Reception on Friday evening--including presentations of awards and speeches by the Michael L. Printz winner and/or honorees.


Margaret A. Edwards Award

Hear the author recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award honor their significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens at the Margaret A. Edwards Brunch on Saturday, sponsored by YALSA and School Library Journal.


Andrew Carnegie Medals

Matthew Desmond and Colson Whitehead, authors of the winning titles of the 2017 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, will join Annual Conference attendees at the celebratory event on Saturday, June 24th, 8:00-10:00pm, at the Chicago Hilton. This year’s featured speaker will be Sara Paretsky, author of the bestselling “V.I. Warshawski” mystery series and one of only five living writers to receive both the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America and the Cartier Diamond Dagger from the British Crime Writers’ Association.

Whitehead’s novel The Underground Railroad won the fiction medal, and Desmond’s Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City won the nonfiction medal; both authors will be in attendance to accept their awards. A conference highlight now in its sixth year, this popular Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence event includes the program hosted by the current selection committee chair, Donna Seaman, and a lively dessert and drinks reception where attendees mingle with winning authors, speakers, colleagues, ALA leaders and book lovers alike.

Tickets for the celebration are available at the 2017 ALA Annual Conference website when you register for the conference or may be added later. You can also purchase a table for 10 to enjoy the exciting evening with chosen friends and colleagues—get details about table reservations here. This event is sponsored by NoveList.


Coretta Scott King Book Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards winners are celebrated at the annual Sunday breakfast honoring the year's best African American authors and illustrators of books for children and youth. The Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Acheivement recipient will also be honored. Individual tickets or table reservations may be purchased in advance.


Newbery, Caldecott and Wilder Medals

ALSC honors the winners of the Newbery, Caldecott, and Wilder medals for outstanding writing and illustration in children's literature during its gala awards banquet on Sunday evening. The gala will be attended by more than 1,000 librarians, reviewers, publishers and fans of children's literature. You can sign up for individual, open-seating tickets when you register for the conference - or add them later. Reserved table reservations (seats of 10) are made through the ALSC office--please visit for details.


Stonewall Book Awards

The Stonewall Book Awards are celebrated on Monday, beginning at 10:00am. The Stonewall Book Awards are the oldest awards honoring the best in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender writing. You can join the GLBT Round Table for free as it recognizes the winners and honorees in fiction, non-fiction, and children's and young adult categories.


Odyssey Award Program

Join ALSC, YALSA, and Booklist in celebrating the year's best in audiobooks for children and young adults on Monday afternoon. Hear clips from the 2017 Honorees. After the ceremony stay for the cocktail reception, sponsored by the Audio Publishers Association.